pavlina chakarova photography






contact | cv | bg

© 2009 - 2013 Pavlina Chakarova. All right reserved.

‹ back | images ›

circle of happiness, 2013


Ayurveda or “The wisdom of life” is an old Indian philosophy that gives us the the knowledge how to live a happy and a full of value life. The most ancient natural healing system identifies 6 tastes by which all foods can be categorized: Sweet, Sour, Salty, Bitter, Pungent, and Astringent. Each taste feeds our mind, body, senses, and spirit in its own unique way. The incorporation of all the 6 tastes into each meal brings greater balance to our body. In my installation I’m combining the power of the circle (perhaps the purest shape) with the symbolic meaning of number 6, associated with harmony. I’m filling each of the circles with one of these six tastes, searching to achieve eternal happiness.

Circle number 7 (associated with perfection) is a combination of all the six tastes – a dish symbolizing a balanced food.